Breaking news: Hearthstone: Descent of Dragons guide Animal Crossing: New Horizons - How to get Bells quickly

esports news and guides

UK and France qualify for the Overwatch World Cup Finals

Groups for the World Cup Finals have also been confirmed.

Picture of John Bedford

About John Bedford

John is a freelance writer based in West Sussex.

The United Kingdom and France have qualified for the Overwatch World Cup Finals, which are scheduled to take place at Blizzard's annual BlizzCon convention at the start of November.

The two teams emerged victorious from this weekend's Group stage in Paris, and will join Finland, South Korea, Canada, the USA, Australia and China for the Finals in Anaheim, Los Angeles.

At the end of the Paris event, all of the qualifying teams were seeded into a pair of groups based on their finishing position during the Group Stages.

Here's how the match-ups look for the opening matches of the BlizzCon Finals.

Group 1

  • France v Canada
  • China v Finland

Group 2

  • USA v United Kingdom
  • South Korea v Australia

Once these opening matches have concluded, the top four teams will then compete for a place in the final match to decide the overall winners of the Overwatch World Cup 2018.

The two teams that don't make the final cut will also duke it out over the weekend for third place.

24 teams were seeded into the Overwatch World Cup when the competition began in the middle of August. Group Stages have since been held in South Korea, the USA, Thailand and Paris to determine the final eight teams.

Exact times for the BlizzCon Finals have yet to be confirmed by Blizzard. As soon as we have those details we'll add a post to the homepage.

Comment on this article

Comments on this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

  • There are no comments on this article.