Breaking news: Hearthstone: Puzzle Lab Guide - Release date, puzzles and card back reward

Sections

Overwatch Season 9 Start Time (Countdown) - PT, ET, GMT, CET

Global start times for the next season of Competitive Play in Overwatch

Picture of John Bedford

About John Bedford

John is Metabomb's Editor in Chief, and is responsible for all of the Hearthstone news, features and guides content on the site.

On this page you'll find Overwatch Season 9 start times for the US (PT, ET), UK (GMT) and Europe (CET) timezones, with other regions detailed too.

A new Season of Overwatch competitive play will get under way in just over a week or so from now, with Season 9 beginning on Wednesday 28th February. That's barring any issues wrapping up Season 8 three days earlier, of course, and getting everything prepped for the new competitive period.

What's the start time for Season 9 of Overwatch though? Well, you shouldn't be too quick to assume that Blizzard will follow the usual 11:00am slot that it likes to reserve for content updates (season events and the like).

Instead, the developers have historically favoured a 4:00PM PT start time for launching new competitive Seasons, and that is in fact the time that's recently been confirmed in a post on the official Overwatch forums.

That's all good to know of course, but what if you don't live on the West Coast of the US? In that case, you'll probably find it helpful to access our chart which shows launch times for Season 9 of Overwatch, wherever you happen to live in the world.

Overwatch Season 9 Start Times (US, UK, Europe)

Just underneath this chart you'll find a breakdown of the rewards you'll receive at the end of Season 8 as well:

EuropeAmericasAsia
12:00am GMT (1st March)4:00pm PT8:00am CST (1st March)
1:00am CET (1st March)5:00pm MDT9:00am KST (1st March)
2:00am MSK (1st March)3:00pm CDT9:00am JST (1st March)
7:00pm EDT
9:00pm ADT
9:00pm BRT
8:00am SGT (1st March)
10:00am AEST (1st March)
12:00pm NZST (1st March)

Assuming you finished up all of your placement matches in Season 8, you'll receive your new spray and player icon. You don't have to do anything special to unlock these, just log into the game after the old season has ended. Note that if you manage to finish in the Top 500 players in your region (get you...), you'll get an animated, sparkly version of these cosmetic items instead.

As well as getting these items, you'll also receive a certain number of Competitive Points (CP) which you can use to unlock the Golden Guns that exist in Overwatch. You can see a gallery of those guns just above, but here's a breakdown of the bonus CP rewards you'll get based on your ranking finish.

Skill RatingRankCP
1-1499Bronze65
1500-1999Silver125
2000-2499Gold250
2500-2999Platinum500
3000-3499Diamond750
3500-3999Master1200
4000-5000Grandmaster1750

Comment on this article

  • There are no comments on this article yet! Could you be the first to post one?

Artifact

Discover the very best information about Artifact:

A

Artifact

Artifact has a release date and will be playable at PAX West

Get an early look at the game before its November launch.

A
A

Artifact

Artifact: Deck building guide

How you'll build your decks in Valve's upcoming collectible card game.

A
A

Artifact

Artifact: Release date (PC, Mac, iOS, Android)

When you can expect Valve's upcoming card game to land.

A
A

Artifact

Artifact: The Dota Card Game guide

Our continuously updated guide to everything we know about Artifact.

A

Call of Duty

Discover the very best information about Call of Duty:

C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout guide

Our complete guide to everything we know about COD's upcoming Battle Royale mode.

C
C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: Trailers & Screenshots

Every trailer and screenshot released for COD Blackout so far

C
C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: Vehicles

Our guide to the vehicles that are expected to feature in COD Blackout.

C
C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: Weapons list

Your guide to every weapon coming with COD's take on Battle Royale.

C

Destiny 2

Discover the very best information about Destiny 2:

D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Dreaming City guide - Raid and Blind Well

Everything we know so far about Forsaken's endgame area.

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Forsaken DLC guide - Release date, Annual Pass, New Raid and Gambit Mode

Everything you need to know about Destiny 2's fall expansion.

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Moments of Triumph Challenges and Rewards List

All challenges and rewards for Destiny 2's Moments of Triumph event.

D

Fortnite: Battle Royale

Discover the very best information about Fortnite: Battle Royale:

F

Fortnite: Battle Royale

Fortnite Summer Skirmish: Results, Players, Schedule and Stream

UPDATE - Now includes full details of all of Week 6's King Pin action.

4 F
F

Fortnite: Battle Royale

Fortnite: Timed Trials guide - Trial and ATK (All Terrain Kart) locations

Everything you need to know about completing this week's Timed Trials challenge.

F
H

Hearthstone

Combo Priest deck list guide - Boomsday - Hearthstone (August 2018)

Our advanced guide to playing Combo Priest in the Boomsday meta.

H
H

Hearthstone

Secret Hunter deck list guide - Boomsday - Hearthstone (August 2018)

How to play the revitalised Secret Hunter in the Boomsday expansion.

H

Hearthstone

Hearthstone: Puzzle Lab Guide - Release date, puzzles and card back reward

Everything you need to know about Hearthstone's new single player content.

H
H

Hearthstone

Kingsbane Rogue deck list guide - Boomsday - Hearthstone (August 2018)

How to play the latest version of Kingsbane Rogue in the Boomdsay meta.

H

League of Legends

Discover the very best information about League of Legends:

L

League of Legends

League of Legends: Nexus Blitz guide

Everything you need to know about this new Experimental Mode.

L
L

League of Legends

League of Legends: How to jump divisions

How to skip divisions in League of Legends.

L
L

League of Legends

League of Legends: Best quality settings

How to achieve the best quality settings in League of Legends.

L

Off-Meta

Discover the very best information about Off-Meta:

O

Off-Meta

Realm Royale: How to queue for a solo match

Feeling brave? Here's how you can queue up to play solo in Realm Royale.

O
O

Off-Meta

Realm Royale: How to get more Shards and spend them at the Forge

How Realm Royale's currency system works and what you can do to earn more.

O
O

Off-Meta

Realm Royale: Mage guide - Tips, Best Abilities, Builds and Legendary Weapon

Our complete guide to getting started with the Mage class in Realm Royale.

O
O

Off-Meta

Realm Royale: How to download and install

How to grab the game and get stuck into the latest Battle Royale craze.

O

Overwatch

Discover the very best information about Overwatch:

O

Overwatch

Overwatch: Summer Games start time 2018: US, UK and Europe - Overwatch

Here's when you'll be able to hop into Summer Games 2018, wherever you are in the world.

O
O

Overwatch

Overwatch: Summer Games start time 2018: US, UK and Europe - Overwatch

Here's when you'll be able to hop into Summer Games 2018, wherever you are in the world.

O
O

Overwatch

Summer Games 2018 guide - Overwatch

What to expect from the return of last year's special event.

O
O

Overwatch

Best Tank Hero - August 2018 (Season 11) - Overwatch

Our updated evaluation of the best Tanks in Overwatch this month.

O

PUBG

Discover the very best information about PUBG:

P

PUBG

PUBG: War Mode - Dodgebomb guide

Everything you need to know about this new limited time mode.

P
P

PUBG

PUBG: The best Sniper Rifle guide (PC, Xbox One)

Our essential guide to the best Sniper rifles in PUBG.

P
P

PUBG

PUBG: Sanhok Forty-Fivers LTM guide

Everything you need to know about this limited-time Event Mode.

P