Breaking news: Hearthstone: Descent of Dragons guide

esports news and guides

Format changes announced for Season 2 of Overwatch League

New teams also assigned to existing divisions

Picture of John Bedford

About John Bedford

John is Metabomb's Editor in Chief, and is responsible for all of the Hearthstone news, features and guides content on the site.

A number of changes have been announced for the Season 2 of the Overwatch League, allowing for the addition of the eight recently announced franchises, as well as opportunities for teams to promote themselves in their home regions.

First up is the announcement of how the new teams will be assigned into divisions. The first four - Paris, Toronto, Washington DC and Atlanta - will be assigned to the Atlantic division. The remaining four newcomers - Vancouver, Chendu, Guangzhou and Hangzhou - will join the Pacific division.

Winners of each division, along with the next best four teams (regardless of their individual divisions), will automatically qualify for the post-season section of the tournament. A further two teams will join them as well, based on the results of a separate tournament held right after Season 2 has concluded.

Blizzard is also keen to ensure that players remain fresh in the busy schedule, and have more opportunities to be present in their home markets. As a result, teams will play either one, two or zero matches in any given week of Season 2.

There will also be more breaks spread throughout the season, with a bigger break planned around the All-Star Event, which is currently scheduled to take place between Stages 2 and 3 of Season 2.

Full details of the Overwatch League Season 2 schedule have yet to be outlined by Blizzard, but will be confirmed towards the end of 2018.

Comment on this article

Comments on this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

  • There are no comments on this article.