Breaking news: Tombs of Terror Guide - Hearthstone Saviors of Uldum

esports news and guides
Sections

Apex Legends Preseason Invitational begins this weekend

You won't believe Watts-on.

Picture of James Law

About James Law

James can usually be found wearing dungarees, playing Hearthstone, drinking coffee, or all of the above. For his sins, he has been cursed to forever main heavies in Smash.

We want Metabomb to be the best site it can be. We've put together an annual reader survey. If you have a few minutes, we'd greatly appreciate you taking the time to respond!

Since Apex Legends’ release in February 2019, players have been diving into Kings Canyon and taking the unique cast of Legends to glory in the ever-shrinking Battle Royale arena. The Respawn development team have kept the game updated with balance patches and new Legends since release, and are now looking to give the Apex Legends Esports scene a big boost with the game’s biggest event yet: the Preseason Invitational.

The full list of teams can be found in a post on EA’s website, with notable invitees including X-Games finalists Sentinals, and eventual winners TSM. Battle Royale is a scary place though, and with so many skilled teams invited to fight, there’s no predicting who’ll come out on top.

Scheduled to begin on Friday, September 13th, the victors will be crowned on Sunday, September 15th. A total prize pool of US$500,000 is on offer, with the first placed team taking home $105,000. The tournament will be played in a double-elimination format, consisting of a Winners and Losers bracket. The Apex Legends Preseason Invitational will be hosted in the beautiful Kraków, Poland, and players won’t be holding back. An extra $8,000 is on offer for the ‘Apex Predator’, the player with the most eliminations during the finals.

The stream will be broadcast on Twitch, Facebook, YouTube, and Mixer, and begins at 12pm BST (7am EDT, 4am PDT). Finally, we can watch esports in Europe at a normal time of day. Actual gameplay starts half an hour after the broadcast starts.

For those of you not planning on watching the whole thing, you can catch the finals at 4:00pm BST (11am EDT, 8am PDT) on Sunday 15th September, where the best of the best will fight to the death.

Comment on this article

Comments on this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

  • There are no comments on this article.

Off-Meta

O

Off-Meta

Legends of Runeterra - Expeditions guide

How to access and play the newest Legends of Runeterra game mode.

O
O

Off-Meta

Legends of Runeterra - Best Decks (November 2019)

You'll be off to a flying start with these decks.

O
O

Off-Meta

Legends of Runeterra Keywords guide - what do they mean?

Our in-depth run through of all the Legends of Runeterra keywords, from Fast to Fearsome.

O
O

Off-Meta

Diablo 4: Everything you need to know

Here's what we know about Diablo 4.

O