Breaking news: Hearthstone: Descent of Dragons guide

esports news and guides

Worlds 2018 Draw Show results set the stage for LoL's biggest tournament

Teams now grouped for the Play-In and Group stages of the competition.

Picture of John Bedford

About John Bedford

John is Metabomb's Editor in Chief, and is responsible for all of the Hearthstone news, features and guides content on the site.

The Draw Show for League of Legends' Worlds 2018 tournament took place in the early hours of Sunday, and the groups for this year's tournament have now been confirmed.

There are two stages to this year's tournament: The Play-In Stage and the Group Stage. Here's how the draw looks for each of the two:

LoL Worlds 2018: Play-In Stage Groups

Group A

  • Edward Gaming
  • Infinity eSports
  • Dire Wolves

Group B

  • G2 Esports
  • Bahcesehir Supermassive
  • Ascension Gaming

Group C

  • Cloud 9
  • KaBuM! e-Sports
  • DetonatioN FocusMe

Group D

  • G-Rex
  • Gambit Esports
  • Kaos Latin Gamers

In the Play-In Stage, 12 teams compete to play a best-of-1 double round robin.

The top two teams then advance to the Play-In Knockout Stage. First and second seeds will be randomly paired together at this point and will compete in a best-of-5.

The four winners will then move on to the Group Stage.

LoL Worlds 2018: Group Stage Groups

Group A

  • Flash Wolves
  • Agreeca Freecs
  • Phong Vu Buffalo
  • TBD

Group B

  • Royal Never Give Up
  • Gen.G
  • Team Vitality
  • TBD

Group C

  • kt Rolster
  • Mad Team
  • Team Liquid
  • TBD

Group D

  • Fnatic
  • 100 Thieves
  • Invictus Gaming
  • TBD

In the Group Stage, the 16 qualifying teams are separated into four groups. Teams compete initially in a best-of-one double round robin.

The top two teams from this stage then advance to the Knockout Stage where the format switches to a best-of-five. The Knockout Stage represents the quarterfinal, semifinal and final stages of the tournament.

The 2018 League of Legends World Championship begins on 1st October, and will take place across four cities in South Korea. The final matches will take place on 3rd November.

Comment on this article

Comments on this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

  • There are no comments on this article.