Breaking news: Metabomb is hiring an esports Staff Writer

esports news and guides
Sections

Destiny 2: Season of the Drifter DLC - Release time US, UK & Europe (PST, BST, CEST)

Here's when Season of the Drifter goes live in your region.

Picture of Ed Thorn

About Ed Thorn

Ed joined Metabomb in May 2017 and puts together guides and news across the site.

Our Destiny 2 Season of the Drifter DLC release time page contains launch details for the US, UK and European timezones.

Destiny 2’s Season of the Drifter DLC is on the horizon and it’s bringing with it a Gambit-filled content extravaganza. There’s an all-new Gambit Prime mode featuring tweaks which’ll make the PVE/PVP mode more competitive, as well as introducing some lovely looking armour sets too.

On top of this, we’ll be able to jump into a new Pinnacle PVE event called The Reckoning. It’s tied to the Gambit loot loop in some way, meaning we’ll be encouraged to jump in, face off against waves of enemies, nab powerful gear and bring it back into Gambit Prime - rinse and repeat.

Of course, there will also be new Exotic weapons, armour pieces and gameplay tweaks to look forward to.

When does the Season of the Drifter go live though? Thankfully, Bungie’s outlined when server maintenance takes place, so we can take this as the definitive launch time.

Below we’ve broken down when the server maintenance will begin for wherever you are in the world. It’s at a pretty nice time for us in the UK as we’ll be able to jump into the content after a hard day’s work. However, some of you in other parts of the world will find it lands extremely early in the morning, which isn’t ideal. Unless you book the day off work of course...

Season of the Drifter: Release Time

Bungie’s outlined exactly when its server maintenance is going ahead for Season of the Drifter’s launch. It’s entitled “Update 2.2.0” and it’s definitely something you’ll want to download ahead of time to save yourself a big wait before the grind.

It should start downloading automatically no matter what platform you’re on. If in doubt, it’s worth doing the classic “Check for Updates” to kickstart things if your PC, Xbox or PS4 hasn’t quite clocked that it’s gone live.

Once you’ve downloaded the update, you’ll need to wait for server maintenance to complete before you can hop into Destiny 2. Due to the huge number of players who’ll be attempting to login, it’s likely the servers will experience a bit of a hiccup too. Don’t be surprised if the whole process gets setback a bit.

Here’s a breakdown of when Update 2.2.0 will be deployed later today:

  • 8:00 AM PST (1700 BST/1800 CEST/1600 UTC) - Destiny 2 maintenance is scheduled to begin.
  • 8:45 AM PST (1745 BST/1845 CEST/1645 UTC) - Destiny 2 is being brought offline for expected maintenance. Players remaining in activities at this time have been returned to the title screen.
  • 9:00 AM PST (1800 BST/1900 CEST/1700 UTC) - Destiny 2 services are scheduled to be back online. Update 2.2.0 will begin rolling out across all platforms and regions.
  • 10:00 AM PST (1900 BST/2000 CEST/1700 UTC) - Destiny 2 maintenance is expected to conclude.

For an overview of everything that’s arriving with Season of the Drifter, make sure you head on over to our Season of the Drifter guide.

Comment on this article

  • There are no comments on this article.

Call of Duty

C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: How to get the Ray Gun

Everything you need to know about locating and spawning this powerful weapon.

C
C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: Dark Ops Challenges guide

Every Dark Ops challenge we know of so far, with insight into completing them all.

1 C
C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: How to unlock characters

Every unlockable character in COD Blackout and what you need to do to unlock them.

C
C

Call of Duty

Call of Duty Blackout: Best Perks guide

Everything you need to know about the Perks available in COD Blackout.

C

Destiny 2

D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Mystery and Potential Walkthrough Guide

Our quick guide to finishing up this Destiny 2 quest

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Thorn quest guide - How to get Thorn

Here's how to get your hands on Thorn in Destiny 2.

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: The Reckoning guide

Everything you need to know about The Reckoning.

D

Dota 2

D

Dota 2

Mobile Auto Chess announced alongside a $1.5million competitive league

All Dota references will be removed for the upcoming iOS and Android versions.

D
D

Dota 2

Dota Auto Chess: Tier List (March 2019)

A continually updated list of what's hot and what's not in Auto Chess.

3 D
D

Dota 2

Dota Auto Chess: Couriers list

All the couriers you can purchase in-game.

D
D

Dota 2

Dota Auto Chess: How to download and install

How to get started with the hit new Arcade mode in Dota 2.

D
D

Dota 2

Dota Auto Chess: Positioning guide

A primer guide to help you out with positioning in Dota Auto Chess.

D

Hearthstone

H

Hearthstone

Hearthstone: Rise of Shadows Guide

UPDATE: Now includes the latest card reveals.

H
H

Hearthstone

Metabomb is hiring an esports Staff Writer

Come and help us grow our esports news, features and guides.

H
H

Hearthstone

Deathrattle Hunter deck list guide - Rastakhan - Hearthstone (March 2019)

Our guide to mastering Deathrattle Hunter in the new Rastakhan meta.

7 H
H

Hearthstone

Hearthstone: Twinspell Keyword Guide & Card List

How the new mechanic works in Rise of Shadows.

H
H

Hearthstone

Hearthstone: Rise of Shadows Guide

Our comprehensive guide to 2019's first Hearthstone expansion.

H

Overwatch

O

Overwatch

Overwatch League 2019: Schedule, start times, results and standings

UPDATED - All the results from Week 5 of the tournament now included.

O
O

Overwatch

Baptiste hits Overwatch on Tuesday 19th March

Hero 30 combat medic will hit the game in just under a week from now.

O
O

Overwatch

OWL 2019 Highlights: The best plays from Stage 1 Week 4

The biggest plays from the game's best players in Week 4.

O
O

Overwatch

Overwatch League 2019: Stage 1 Week 4 Results

All the results from the last week in Overwatch League.

O
O

Overwatch

Overwatch League 2019: Schedule, start times, results and standings

UPDATED - All the results from Week 3 of the tournament now included.

O