Breaking news: Hearthstone: The best post-nerf decks - deck lists and guides

Sections

Overwatch Season 6 start times: US, UK and Europe - Overwatch

When Season 6 of Overwatch begins in your corner of the world

Global start times for Season 6 of Overwatch, covering the US, UK, Europe and all other server regions.

Overwatch Season 6 will begin in just a matter of hours from now, and if you're looking to find the exact start time for the new round, then you've come to the right place.

In very simple terms the new season of competitive play will begin at 5pm PDT, which is the timezone of Blizzard's headquarters. What about the rest of the world though?

Well, to help you get prepared for the next bout of competition, we've updated our usual timezone chart to help you translate that US start time to wherever you happen to be in the world.

We check this quite carefully whenever we update it, but do let us know in the comments if you think we've made any mistakes for your own corner of the world.

After the table, we've got a quick run-down of some of the significant changes that are coming with Season 6 of Overwatch. Everyone's affected in one way or another, so make sure you brush up on what's new.

EuropeAmericasAsia
1am BST5pm PDT8am CST
2am CEST6pm MDT9am KST (September 1st)
3am MSK7pm CDT9am JST (September)
8pm EDT
10pm ADT
10pm BRT
8am SGT (September 1st)
10am AEST (September 1st)
12pm NZST (September 1st)

There are quite a few changes coming with Season 6 of Overwatch. Here's what you need to know before you get stuck into the action:

  • Seasons will no longer last for three months. Instead, they're now capped at two, subject to review going forwards.
  • As Seasons are becoming shorter, you'll receive more Competitive Points per win to ensure you end each season with the same number of points as before, and for equivalent amounts of play.
  • Those players who consistently fail to meet the grade of Silver, Gold, Platinum and Diamond will find themselves dropping down into a lower tier. This is based on your performance over the last five games.
  • Despite these changes to lower ranks, you will still continue to receive your end-of-season bonus Competitive Points based on the highest rank you managed to achieve that season.
  • Players in Diamond or higher will now only have to play five games a week (down from seven), to prevent the ranking decay system from kicking in. The Skill Rating decay penalty is now also reduced from 75 to 50.
  • Control maps are now decided on a best-of-three format, just as they are in Quick Play.
  • Very few players should find themselves at a lower rank as a result of completing their placement matches this time around. There will still be edge-cases, but these will now represent an extreme minority.
  • The very highest skilled players will have to wait slightly longer for their matches, to ensure the matchmaking system remains fair for players of all skill levels.

Comment on this article

  • There are no comments on this article yet! Could you be the first to post one?

Artifact

Discover the very best information about Artifact:

A

Artifact

Artifact: Valve's new card game might get a physical release too

Trademark activity hints at a possible real-world equivalent of the Dota-inspired game.

A
A

Artifact

Artifact: Five lessons Artifact needs to learn from Hearthstone

What Artifact needs to do if it's to compete with the best.

A
A

Artifact

Artifact: Valve releases trailer for new Dota-themed card game

The vaguest of teases alongside the announcement.

A
A

Artifact

Artifact: The Dota Card Game guide - everything we know

Our continuously updated guide to everything we know about Artifact.

A

Destiny 2

Discover the very best information about Destiny 2:

D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Trials of the Nine guide - Third Spire, loot rewards and reset schedule

A comprehensive overview of Destiny 2’s Trials of the Nine PVP mode.

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Thaviks exploit reported in this week's Nightfall Strike

A somewhat easier way to kill the Nightfall boss has emerged.

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Stop and Go walkthrough guide (Adventure)

We’ll take you through this mission step by step.

D
D

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Reversing The Polarity walkthrough guide (Adventure)

Our essential walkthrough to completing this Adventure in Destiny 2.

D
H

Hearthstone

The best post-nerf decks - deck lists and guides - Hearthstone

Our massive round-up of deck lists and deck guides for the post-nerf meta.

2 H
H

Hearthstone

Blizzard apologises for recent HCT Tournament issues - Hearthstone

Vows to learn from the issues and improve for the next official tournament.

H
H

Hearthstone

It's Pirate Day and Tharr be Booty to be had - Hearthstone

Grab 100 Gold for doing pretty much nothing in the game right now.

H
H

Hearthstone

Patch 9.1 now live and introduces five card nerfs - Hearthstone

What's for the chop this time?

H

Overwatch

Discover the very best information about Overwatch:

O

Overwatch

Overwatch Patch Notes (September 19th, 2017) - Junkertown, D.Va and Mercy changes - Overwatch

Junkertown joins the game, along with some major hero overhauls.

O
O

Overwatch

Hero 26 "very playable" in internal development - Overwatch

Jeff Kaplan discusses the future of Overwatch in new IGN video

O
O

Overwatch

Free Weekend returns at the the end of September - Overwatch

Try the game free of charge, and preserve progress if you purchase it afterwards.

O
O

Overwatch

New Developer Update video addresses the rise of toxicity - Overwatch

Kaplan outlines developer plans while inviting community to contribute to positivity.

O